Friday, 5 December 2014


Tuesday, the YouTube account for the Middle East Media Research Institute, or MEMRI, was indefinitely removed from the video sharing site.
MEMRI is a Middle East watchdog that uploads content revealing extremism, but YouTube said the outlet was blocked due to “repeated or severe violations” of their “Community Guidelines and/or claims of copyright infringement.” According to Truth Revolt, speculations suggest that one viewer possibly complained about MEMRITV sharing videos of Muslim hate-speech.
The hate speech policy on YouTube states: “There is a fine line between what is and what is not considered to be hate speech. For instance, it is generally okay to criticize a nation-state, but not okay to post malicious hateful comments about a group of people solely based on their race.”
Many of the videos that are featured on MEMRI portray Muslim speakers who demean or vilify Israel, Jews and the U.S. MEMRI goes through a process of translating Arabic into English, creating subtitles for the videos and allowing English-speaking viewers to understand what the video is suggesting.
Videos by MEMRI includes Jordanian MP: The PA Must Not Defend The Interests Of The Filthy Jews and Yemeni Child Leads Crowd in Chant ‘Curses Upon the Jews, And Victory for Islam’.
According to the MEMRI website: “The Middle East Media Research Institute (MEMRI) explores the Middle East and South Asia through their media. MEMRI bridges the language gap between the West and the Middle East and South Asia, providing timely translations of Arabic, Farsi, Urdu-Pashtu and Dari media, as well as original analysis of political, ideological, intellectual, social, cultural, and religious trends.”
The director of MEMRI was unavailable for comment. However, MEMRI tweeted:

MEMRI has the option to appeal, which has worked for them in the past.

VERY Interesting list...

"MEMRI's Board of Advisors and Directors comprises a group of distinguished figures in government, media, law and academia. 


Oliver "Buck" Revell: Chairman; Former FBI Associate Deputy Director-Investigations, in charge of Criminal Investigative, Counter-Terrorism, Counter-Intelligence and International programs; formerly a member of the National Foreign Intelligence Board, Vice-Chairman of the Interagency Group for Counter Intelligence, and of the Senior Review Group of the Vice President's Task Force on Terrorism; currently the President of Revell Group International, Inc.

Steve Emerson: Executive Director of The Investigative Project and known terrorism expert

Jeffrey Kaufman: Managing Trademark and Copyright Partner at Oblon, Spivak, McClelland, Maier & Neustadt

Robert Reilly: Former official at the Department of Defense and Chairman of the Committee for Western Civilization at the Claremont Institute.

Bernard Lewis: Professor of Near Eastern Studies Emeritus at Princeton University

Gen. Michael V. Hayden: Retired United States Air Force four-star general and former Director of the National Security Agency and Director of the Central Intelligence Agency.

Donald Rumsfeld: Former US Secretary of Defense and US Representative (IL).

Elie Wiesel: Recipient of the Nobel Peace Prize, Presidential Medal of Freedom, the U.S. Congressional Gold Medal, and the Medal of Liberty Award

James Woolsey: Former Director of Central Intelligence Agency and Secretary of the Navy

Chin Ho Lee: Former FBI Special Agent and Senior Executive of the Hyundai Corporation

Stuart Eizenstat: Former ambassador to the European Union

John Bolton: Former US Ambassador to the United Nations

Josef Joffe: Editor-in-Chief of Die Ziet

John Ashcroft: Former US Attorney General and U.S. Senator (MO)

Ehud Barak: Former Prime Minister of Israel

Irwin Cotler: Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Jose Maria Aznar: Former Prime Minister of Spain

Stephen J. Trachtenberg: President Emeritus and University Professor of Public Service at George Washington University

Michael Mukasey: Former U.S. Attorney General and Judge of the United States District Court for the Southern District of New York

Jana Hybaskova: Former Member of the European Parliament and Chairperson of the European Democrats Party (Czech Republic)

Norman Podhoretz: Former editor-in-chief of Commentary Magazine

Mort Zuckerman: Chairman and editor-in-chief, U.S. News & World Report

William Bennett: Former Secretary of Education

Christopher DeMuth: Former President, American Enterprise Institute

Paul Bremer: Former Ambassador to the Netherlands; former Director of Reconstruction and Humanitarian Assistance in Iraq (de-factor governor)

Alfred Moses: Former Ambassador to Romania

Herb London: President of the Hudson Institute

Dr. Khaled Fouad Allam: Algerian sociologist at the University of Trieste (Italy)

Magdi Khalil: Human rights activist and Executive Editor of the Egyptian weekly Watani International

Parastou Forouhar: Iranian artist

Faraj Sarkouhi: Former editor of the Iranian literary monthly magazine Adineh

Lord George Weidenfeld: Former Vice-President, Oxford University Development Program

Dr. Shaker Al-Nabulsi: Jordanian writer and University Professor

Richard Holbrooke: Special Representative for Afghanistan and Pakistan; Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations

Jack Kemp: Former U.S. Secretary of Housing and Urban Development and former candidate for United States Vice President

Jeane Kirkpatrick: America's first woman ambassador to the United Nations

Irving Kristol: Recipient, Presidential Medal of Freedom, 2002 and Former managing editor of Commentary Magazine

James Q. Wilson: Professor of Public Policy at Pepperdine University

Max Kampelman: Recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom; Former Ambassador to the Conference on Security and Cooperation in Europe

Lafif Lakhdar: Tunisian intellectual

No comments:

Post a comment